Pontiac GTO Forum banner

GTO Gear Ratio's

169K views 171 replies 74 participants last post by  DONNY 
#1 · (Edited by Moderator)
Hi. I'm posting a new thread because I didn't want to hijack another thread that this subject came up on Gear ratios. I was bragging about my "racing" days, and gear ratios were mentioned. The following is some information that I have learned over the years, and the following opinions on gear choice are my opinions and nothing else. I am no engineer.

I've run GTOs over the years with ratio's from 2.56:1 to 4.56:1. Stock early GTOs with stick shift usually came through with 3.55 gears, and auto cars had 3.36 gears standard. The 3.55 (4-Series) carrier could accommodate gears from 4.88 or so down to 3.36. The 3 series carriers could accommodate gears from 3.23 down to 2.51. I found that "back in the day", with cheap gas and road noise a fact of life, the 3.55 gears were okay.....the '66 tended to be running about 3200 rpm at 70mph....right in the power band. The speed limit was 55 at the time. The top end was ok. The low-end was great. Good "all around" gear, back then.

Now, 3200 rpm at 70 is too darn high. Too much noise, too much fuel, and with a big block Pontiac, unneeded. I ran a 3.90 gear in a '65 for a while. That car HATED the highway. The top end was 107 mph, at the redline. It would get there really quick, though. I changed out those 3.90s with a 3.36 gear set (the tallest gear set I could run in my 4 series carrier) back in 1990. Changed the car. Now, it loves 70 mph. It feels just about as strong out of the hole (Still can't hook up....tire smoke central), my fuel economy went way up, and my road noise went way down.