LS2 Knock Sensors Workaround? - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-29-2006, 08:44 AM Thread Starter
 
GTO_Gregory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Texas & Iraq
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
LS2 Knock Sensors Workaround?

I would like to know if anyone has heard about a workaround for putting an aluminum LS2 in an LS1 car with the early version knock sensors. I understand there is a workaround for the electronics rather than using the 6.0 iron block. My goal is to put an aluminum 402 LS2 in a 2004 LS1 car.
GTO_Gregory is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-29-2006, 07:08 PM
 
SloTymer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Space Coast Florida
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
LS2 is also an aluminum block.
SloTymer is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-29-2006, 07:12 PM Thread Starter
 
GTO_Gregory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Texas & Iraq
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SloTymer
LS2 is also an aluminum block.
SloTymer:

My concern is that the LS1 sensor tuning is acoustically set for their location in the lifter valley, whereas the LS2 knock sensors are in the side of the block. Therefore, different sounds in different locations. The knock sensors are adjustable in the ECM, but I've yet to meet someone who is good at adjusting the knock sensors.
GTO_Gregory is offline  
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-29-2006, 08:47 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to ftlfirefighter Send a message via Yahoo to ftlfirefighter
Well, there's always the C5R block!! It has the sensors in the valley like the LS1 does
ftlfirefighter is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-29-2006, 09:28 PM
 
Mike_V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Wow, I never thought this would be an issue. I believed all newer sensors generated the knock signal and the ECM just decided how far to retard timing. My brother recently did a swap like this and he used this http://www.lingenfelter.com/store/rx-ls2-ksrh.html.

So far so good.
Mike_V is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-30-2006, 10:02 PM Thread Starter
 
GTO_Gregory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Texas & Iraq
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
ftlfirefighter & Mike V:

Thanks for the responses. I didn't know that about the C5R block, but I'll end up going with whatever the motor builder uses and I suspect it will be just an off-the-shelf LS2 block. The link for the Lingenfelter wiring is cool. The best part is that the prices are very affordable. Other vendors include more in their conversion kits, but charge a whole lot more too!

The bottom line is that I have to make sure I have all of the parts to make the conversion go right the first time. The car is my daily driver, and I'll be taking a week off of work to make the swap in my garage.

Thanks Again!

Last edited by GTO_Gregory; 04-30-2006 at 10:05 PM.
GTO_Gregory is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-08-2006, 07:31 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
OH BOY!!!!!!
"Wow, I never thought this would be an issue. I believed all newer sensors generated the knock signal and the ECM just decided how far to retard timing"

Some advice is worth exactly what you paid for IT!!!!

And just how do you think the ECM decides when and HOW MUCH to retard SPARK !!! It's NOT THE ECM that decides, IT's the person that calibrates that ENGINE in THAT vehicle with THAT software. That's who decides. It takes many months and tests with very sophisticated equipment to to that correctly. Yet some think just any KNOCK sensor on any block will work..Fat CHANCE.

Even if the KNOCK sensor were exactly the same !!! Once you change location, and/or Cam as well as many other factors you are betting your engines durability !! Not only is the knock sensor "LOCATION" specific as far as function, but "SOFTWARE" ( as in the stuff that runs in the ECM ) specific.
Location on the same block will effect how the sensors output is "read" by the software. Different locations or different blocks will add even more changes to the output of the signal, as "read" by the ECM software. It is far more complex than seeing a signal form a sensor and retarding SPARK.
GTO TOO is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-08-2006, 10:11 PM
 
Mike_V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Well, since you seem to be an expert, how about giving the guy some advice. I know the part I posted works. Seen the car, driven the car, love the car.

Now, I know, a lot of things can be interpreted as a knock, as you said, and sometimes you don’t want a quick knock – even a real one – to retard timing. That’s why many run an inline switch to disable the knock sensor. It’s needed for startup, since an initial check is done, but at the track many flip their inline switch to disable the signal. Also, you have constant knocks you know it. So, it's not like you'll be driving around not knowing your new engine is knocking the life out of itself.
Mike_V is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac GTO Forum > The 2004-2006 GTO > Engine Discussions
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac GTO Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome