Gauge pods? - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 40 (permalink) Old 05-29-2007, 05:48 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Gauge pods?

I saw a nice gauge pod insert the other day on here. Goes into the middle of the dash where the plastic insert sits now. Where do you get one of these? What gauges are recommended for here? I was thinking Oil Temp and Fuel Pressure.

Seth

Have you ever thought that the people you talk to online are perfectly normal....and that YOU are the psychopath?
SnKGoat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 40 (permalink) Old 05-29-2007, 07:14 AM
 
Andys05GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: windsor locks
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Andys05GTO
Did it look like this?

My House Flipping Website
http://www.theflipreport.com
Andys05GTO is offline  
post #3 of 40 (permalink) Old 05-29-2007, 09:17 AM
 
BV GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
If you have a 2004 and up to a January build 2006, the JHP kit is a plug and play as the factory wiring loom has a connector for the gauges. If your car is a 2006 with a post January build you'll have to splice it into your wiring.

If, like me, you have to splice gauges in, here are some lower cost units:
http://www.gravanatuning.com/applica...od_NEW_DESIGN_

http://www.pfyc.com/c/GTGAU/Gauges.html

Last edited by BV GTO; 05-29-2007 at 09:20 AM.
BV GTO is offline  
post #4 of 40 (permalink) Old 05-29-2007, 09:25 AM
 
The_Bleek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Blue Bell PA
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
the PFYC ones look pretty sick but they attach with 3M tape?? whack. Anyone have these with a pic installed?
The_Bleek is offline  
post #5 of 40 (permalink) Old 05-29-2007, 09:30 AM
 
The_Bleek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Blue Bell PA
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
one more thing... which gauges can you splice in anyway? A/F, Oil, Water????
The_Bleek is offline  
post #6 of 40 (permalink) Old 05-29-2007, 10:09 AM
dizzy1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)
Quoted: Post(s)
Gage pod

I have seen one GTO with this item,, you get them from PFYC.COM..

Last edited by dizzy1; 05-29-2007 at 11:27 AM.
post #7 of 40 (permalink) Old 05-29-2007, 10:50 AM
 
BV GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dizzy1 View Post
I have seen one GTO with this item,, you get them from PFYC.COM.. as far as what gages to put in there,, a word of ADVICE,, don't use a OIL or Water Gage,,Go with a VOLT and a Vacume gage, ,,with a OIL and Water gage you will have a hose coming into the instrument panel,, and if one of these sucker leaks ,, BIG TROUBLE
If you get an oil pressure gauge, get the electrical one, not mechanical which feeds the hose you mentioned to the gauge. The electric one has a sending unit mounted on the engine and just wires into the gauge. I helped a buddy install electric gauges in his 90 Camaro(replaced all the factory gauges). I can't recall where we tapped the sending unit into as that was over 10 years ago. If you use a mechanical oil pressure gauge, it's best to mount it outside, for example through the cowl vents.
BV GTO is offline  
post #8 of 40 (permalink) Old 05-29-2007, 10:57 AM
 
BV GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Bleek View Post
one more thing... which gauges can you splice in anyway? A/F, Oil, Water????
Here's how to splice in the Holden wiring:
http://www.jhp.com.au/monaro-gto/gto-binnacle.php


If you're going to use Autometer or other gauges, go to a speed shop and ask to see the installation instructions. They're pretty good.
BV GTO is offline  
post #9 of 40 (permalink) Old 05-29-2007, 11:19 AM
 
dustyminpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Daphne, Alabama
Posts: 1,451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I've got the JHP gauges and love them to death. My only gripe is the plastic lens is super sensitive and scratches easily when cleaning. You gotta take some Maguires plastic scratch remover to it or just take them up to a frame shop and have two round pieces of glass cut out and double side tape them in the place the cheap plastic lens used to be. HOWEVER, I was under the impression they didn't work with the 04's. Just the 05's and the 06's with a build date no later then Jan. have the plug and play. The Feb.-May 06's (or whatever the last month was, I think it's May, not sure) need to buy a wiring harness kit from JHP for the guages to work.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC04139.JPG
Views:	742
Size:	545.9 KB
ID:	1396   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC04140.JPG
Views:	894
Size:	550.9 KB
ID:	1397  
dustyminpin is offline  
post #10 of 40 (permalink) Old 05-29-2007, 02:16 PM
 
texgoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Corpus Christi TX
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
www.teamscss.com makes killer gauge pods and matching gauges.
texgoat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac GTO Forum > The 2004-2006 GTO > Interior Discussions

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac GTO Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome