After market gauges - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-28-2012, 07:18 PM Thread Starter
 
gtoearl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
After market gauges

Want to put “aftermarket” ELECTRIC gauges in my 66 GTO. Not sure what manufacture to use yet; maybe Auto Meter or Sunpro. Any suggestions is appreciated....My question is; can I use the engine harness ? That is, using the temp sending wire from the engine harness to run the aftermarket temp electric gauge; instead of wiring it with a new wire…. Same thing with the oil sending unit wire. Hope this makes sense...
gtoearl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-29-2012, 11:38 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have been looking at Dakota Digital.
They have a kit for our cars, and provide any adapter to sensors based on your needs, it is improtant to me since I am doing an LS swap. They are worth calling.
Groundczero is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-29-2012, 10:09 PM
 
joesweeting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Gauges

New Vintage USA:
I like the 1967 series and they can custom make any face you like and install led lights in the gauges.
New Vintage USA
New Vintage USA 1967 Series 60s themed muscle car gauges

Classic Instruments:
The sky drive system is a great idea and I like the G/Stock series
Welcome to Classic Instruments
Classic Instruments Series
joesweeting is offline  
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-29-2012, 11:12 PM Thread Starter
 
gtoearl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks for the new info..I really like the New Vintage series 67 gauges....I think that's the one! Now as for my question stated above.....can I use the excisting engine harness, without having to run a new wire....I think if I just tap into it on the other side of the firewall ( inside the car) , it would work.......what do you think?

Last edited by gtoearl; 11-30-2012 at 01:18 AM.
gtoearl is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-30-2012, 05:31 PM
 
joesweeting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My 69 GTO uses a printed dash ciruit. A previous owner installed some aftermarket and had to run new wiring. I'm not familiar with the 66 GTO, I don't think you have a printed dash ciruit. So, you should not have to rewire the gauges. I'm not sure, I'm just guessing since you don't have a printed dash circuit.



Sent from my ADR6425LVW using AutoGuide.Com Free App
joesweeting is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-30-2012, 06:42 PM
64-67 Expert
 
geeteeohguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fresno, California
Posts: 7,858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
You can indeed use the wiring that's in place on your '66. You may need to make up connectors for the gauge end of the circuit. I take it you have lights right now, and not a rally cluster? If so, you'll need different sending units for the oil and temp.
geeteeohguy is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-07-2012, 07:36 PM Thread Starter
 
gtoearl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
thanks guys for your input. This new tri power I bought from Mike's Tripowers will look much better with one electrical wire running over the intake/head area than the mechanical tube line. Welcome - Pontiac Tripower.com - Your One Stop Tripower Shop
So far I'm real happy with his workmanship and attention to detail..... I will post more after the install.........If anyone out there has done a changeover to a tri power, I'd appreciate any advice you may have......overlooked parts I may need etc.....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	100_2254-1.jpg
Views:	115
Size:	764.8 KB
ID:	16229  
gtoearl is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-13-2012, 05:23 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NE PA
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
It is best to have lights and gauges. The light will get your attention to monitor the gauge if something goes wrong.

jim
66 Gas Tires Oil is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-13-2012, 12:07 PM Thread Starter
 
gtoearl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
How would you wire both? Do I need two different sending units for each, the temp and the oil? Can I run them through the same harness wire? thanks for your input......
gtoearl is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-13-2012, 01:46 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NE PA
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
you need to use two sending units for the water temp. On the oil use a metal ussually copper line on a 1/8" pipe T with a idiot light sending unit on the other end or connect to two locations. no big deal. no one sits and just looks at there gauge. a bright red light gets your attention.

Jim
66 Gas Tires Oil is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac GTO Forum > The 1964-1974 Pontiac Tempest, Lemans & GTO > 1964-1974 Tempest, LeMans & GTO Technical and Electrical Wiring
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac GTO Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Heads on the market killdustindead Engine Discussions 0 05-18-2010 10:37 PM
Anybody into the stock market? Chrisco The Lounge 2 04-29-2008 09:57 AM
Who is in the market? mynameiswazy General Classifieds 3 08-30-2007 06:01 PM
After market exhaust dustyminpin 2004-2006 GTO General Discussion 10 08-11-2006 09:36 PM
In the Market for a GOAT in Nor-Cal? 707GTOLS2 2004-2006 GTO General Discussion 0 04-01-2006 01:31 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome