no oil pressure - Page 2 - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-10-2009, 11:58 AM Thread Starter
 
wingnutooa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Salem OR
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
my dad was telling me last night that he remembered something about Pontiac engines having weak oiling capabilities to the lifters/valve train?

when he put a "Crower, Monarch" cam in his GTO he said he was either going to go solid or with the new style "pump up" lifter and he decided to go with those.

can anyone shine some more light on this?

we're debating what to do with the engine. i'd like to build it.

with a set of pistons, cam and an intake it'll break 350hp easy.
wingnutooa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-11-2009, 08:22 AM
Super Moderator
 
Rukee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Central Wisconsin
Posts: 9,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
^^ That was true with the 326 engine. I missed what motor you have. But if it was a 326, changing the pistons, heads, cam, lifters, push-rods, guide plates (to the 389 style), should net you reliable 350HP easy.
Rukee is offline  
post #13 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-11-2009, 11:36 AM Thread Starter
 
wingnutooa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Salem OR
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
ok so what about the 326 gave it weak oiling?

obviously was changed for the 389 right?
wingnutooa is offline  
post #14 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-11-2009, 08:34 PM
64-67 Expert
 
geeteeohguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fresno, California
Posts: 7,985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Pontiac engines are NOT known for weak oiling to the top end. In fact, they usually get so much oil up there, there have been restrictor devices fabbed over the years by racers to keep more oil in the sump! If all is clear and free of gunk, it will be fine.
geeteeohguy is offline  
post #15 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-12-2009, 08:12 AM
Super Moderator
 
Rukee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Central Wisconsin
Posts: 9,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingnutooa View Post
ok so what about the 326 gave it weak oiling?

obviously was changed for the 389 right?
The 326 top end was not oiled through the push rods. There are oil passages through the head that pass the oil through holes in the rocker studs to oil the rocker arms. The hollow rocker studs are weaker then that solid rocker studs of the 389. The top end oiling of the 389 is much better. You can convert a 326 top end to a 389 oiling system by changing the push rods, lifters and rocker studs, but you can't go the other way.
Rukee is offline  
post #16 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-13-2009, 09:35 PM
 
Mcantw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Poulsbo, WA
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I got some ZDDP right from Ames. Was getting a bunch of items and just added that one in.
Mcantw is offline  
post #17 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-14-2009, 05:32 AM
 
Koppster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Garden Ridge TX
Posts: 690
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Okay, you guys got me wondering. My oil pressure gauge indicates about 70 psi at 2700 rpm, seems high to me. The motor is a 76 400. Thoughts?

Koppster is offline  
post #18 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-14-2009, 11:20 AM
64-67 Expert
 
geeteeohguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fresno, California
Posts: 7,985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Yeah. If it's a stock guage, they can read high. 70PSI at cruising speed is kinda high. How accurate is your guage? Do you have other sins of excessive oil pressure (leaks, etc)? How high does it get at 4000 rpm??? Generally speaking, a standard oil filter will bypass the element at around 60-70psi. Pontiac also has a bypass port and valve at the oil filter housing, meant to allow oil flow if the filter gets clogged. So if you're running 80PSI sithout a superduty valved oil filter flange, you will be running unfiltered oil. (the 455 Super Duty ran an 80psi pump). What viscosity oil are you running? 10W-30 should be fine. How cold is it running, etc. If you have no symptoms other than a slightly high guage reading, my advise would be to leave it alone. You probably do not have a problem.
geeteeohguy is offline  
post #19 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-14-2009, 11:40 AM
67 Basket Case Restorer
 
Too Many Projects's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Stillwater, MN
Posts: 2,717
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koppster View Post
Okay, you guys got me wondering. My oil pressure gauge indicates about 70 psi at 2700 rpm, seems high to me. The motor is a 76 400. Thoughts?
Could be the builder put a high pressure pump in it... call him and ask what is in your engine for oil pump, cam, rocker arms, etc. he should've given you a complete list of the build with the car.

Mitch
1967 GTO; Gulf Turquoise on Black, 4 speed, buckets SOLD
1967 Camaro ss/rs 350
1966 Chevelle SS 396
1966 Chevelle Malibu
1970 Chevelle SS 396
1962 Impala SS
1952 Chev 2 ton flat bed
1938 Chev coupe
Too Many Projects is offline  
post #20 of 20 (permalink) Old 02-14-2009, 02:52 PM
 
Koppster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Garden Ridge TX
Posts: 690
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Gauge is a Classic Instruments quad, the fuel, temp and amps all seem to be reading correcty so I ass-u-me the oil pressure is as well.

I'm using Valvoline VR1 for oil, that's what the previous used and I'm thinking it may be good for the Edelbrock heads. I also remember the rule from "back then" about never changing oils...

I'll call the guy that built the motor, he put just about everything else in it so I wouldn't be surprised. I want to ask him about the pistons anyway, I know it was bored but don't know what kind of pistons they used.

Thanks Amigos & Apologies to Wingnutoaa for the "thread jack".

Rickster Sends...

Koppster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac GTO Forum > The 1964-1974 Pontiac Tempest, Lemans & GTO > 1964-1974 Tempest, LeMans & GTO Technical and Electrical Wiring

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac GTO Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oil Change Intervals GTO JUDGE Service, Maintenance and Technical Discussion 2 09-30-2007 02:33 AM
Oil Pressure Gauge ACR 2004-2006 GTO General Discussion 7 12-03-2006 12:21 PM
Computer guages (Autotap OBDII-CAN Diagnostic) MJGTOWISH 2004-2006 GTO General Discussion 3 12-03-2006 11:01 AM
Peak Oil Myth Debunked b_a_betterperson The Lounge 3 11-25-2006 12:01 AM
We're Not Running Out Of Oil b_a_betterperson The Lounge 6 08-24-2005 07:15 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome