Pontiac GTO Forum banner

Rob's 1966 Restoration

29K views 83 replies 24 participants last post by  4rd4fun 
#1 ·
Hi,
I just recently joined the forum to help with the restoration of my 1966 GTO. So far I have found the site to be a great tool and I decided that I would give back with a running log of my restoration. I did this with a previous resto and found it helpful to me and for others. A little background, I have had lots of different muscle cars but have been predominantly a mopar guy. The other car I did was a 70 Road Runner. That said when I graduated high school my car was a white 1966 Gto and I have allways wanted to own another. A few years back I saw one in a garage near my house. I talked to the guy and offered to buy it (note it was a white 4spd just like my high school car). Great guy and he considered my offer but his wife really wanted him to keep the car and get it going again. A few weeks back I happened to ride by and see the care sitting outside which was odd as it was allways kept in the garage. I shot him an email and asked if maybe he would reconsider as the weather was going to take a toll on the car. He returned my email stating he might consider as he had wrecked his other car and needed to repair it. Along with that he had also injured his hand. Making it unlikley he would get to the car anytime soon. So there is the long story, now I have a car to restore. I'll post some pictures when I get them downloaded. Thanks to those of you that have already posted great info to help me get started.
Rob

See less See more
#13 ·
Take a look at Wilwood. My 69 was an original front disc car, but I went with a Wilwood system on all 4 wheels. The car has been up and running since 2011, went on the full Power Tour in 2013, and the brake system has been trouble free.

Bear

#17 ·