Pontiac GTO Forum banner

Can a car be a Tempest and still a GTO

12K views 28 replies 9 participants last post by  geeteeohguy 
#1 ·
I am looking at a GTO and its Vin # is 23537 not 23737.The guy claims it is a GTO .Does this mean it is a Tempest GTO and not a Lemans GTO.I am a little confused.Or is this just a clone?The car is a 1965 .

#4 ·
:agree

On a side note, When the GTO was new there was a lot of confusion over if the car was a Tempest or a LeMans. Most magazine articles including the famous Car & Driver Pontiac GTO vs Ferrari GTO article called the car a Pontiac Tempest GTO. Many GTOs today still have Tempest on the registration title but the 37 (LeMans) code is in the VIN and cowl tag.

#5 ·
That is what I thought! He has documentation on the PHS.The GTO OPTIONS is highlighted in yellow but nothing underneath is highlighted.where it saids all the above items are included in this option , again nothing is highlighted.I was a little confused.I am a newbie and looking to pick up a 1965 GTO but not a clone.
The PHS also states that it is a TEMPEST GTO.Highlighted in Yellow.

#7 ·
Never use a PHS provided to you by the owner other than comparing it to the PHS you just ordered yourself. Many people are taking PHS paperwork and making it their own version.

#8 ·
Every 1965 PHS says "Tempest GTO" highlighted, hand printed. For every Tempest, LeMans, and GTO. PHS services uses the same template for all cars. Means nothing. What means something is the build sheet that comes with the PHS, showing engine codes, trans, GTO option (option 382) etc. Indesputable.

#13 ·
Does the VIN have a Z in it? The cowl tag is from Fremont, CA. You should have a letter Z (Fremont) as well in your VIN.

I noticed your PHS has rally wheels but the tires are marked 7.35X14. Rally wheels came with the 7.75X14 size tires.

The VIN and cowl tag info not matching up is not good.

#14 ·