User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-08-2015, 09:45 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
1966 GTO questions

Hey guys,

I just bought a #s matching 1966 GTO hard top all original Tri power, 4spd. Been reading up on the message boards and all the great information on here. The reason for my post is while I am a car guy I am not a mechanic and cannot do any of the restoration or fix ups myself. I have to take it to a classic car mechanic here in town. Its currently there now as I wanted someone to look at it and give me their opinion on what needed to be done. He charges $100 per hour which I can live with but again as mentioned I don't know whether I am getting taken advantage of or not. The car is in decent shape, no rust at all.

Currently I am getting the back breaks fixed, new shocks and springs, new fuel tank and the wiring harness done, also replaced the oil pressure, temperature, and fuel gauges. All of this is costing me $6500. I plan on driving this car around 5000 miles per year as I don't want to just let it sit in the garage.

I believe there is an oil pan leak and possibly a rear seal leak. The mechanic wanted to basically take the whole engine out and clean it including the carbs. When I heard what he was going to charge (8K)I decided not to since I just bought the car.

If I plan on driving the car around 5K each year what kind of maintenance or preventive care would you recommend I do to keep the engine in decent shape. I definitely want to get the leaks fixed and also at some point do a carb clean but i do have to keep price in mind. Overall I think the car is in good shape but I also know its from 1966 and want to make sure I can enjoy the car for years to come.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I attached a few pictures.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Engine 1966.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	518.7 KB