1969 covertible value - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-20-2012, 07:38 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
1969 covertible value

hello everyone. newbie here looking for help. im going to look at a 1969 convertible tomorrow and need some help with a ball park value. its original owner numbers matching car. has 117,000 miles on it. auto on the column. which isnt my 1st choice. was repainted 5 years ago and not to an original color. thats all i know until i get there so any help would be appreciated thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-21-2012, 10:42 AM
Super Moderator

Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Garage
So much depends on condition that it's hard to say with any certainty. Auto on the column makes it a very rare optioned car, and that's low mileage for a 69. If it's otherwise in good condition, this sounds like one that I'd vote for going %100 original on - that would preserve the most value. What's the seller asking for it?

When you go look, take plenty of photos and post them here. Examine very closely for any hint of rust in these areas:
* Bottom of front fenders between the door and wheel opening - below the GTO emblems and above/behind the trim
* Base of windshield
* Rocker panels (bottom edge under doors)
* Bottom edges of quarter panels
* Around rear wheel openings
* Passenger compartment and trunk floor

Also check out the front bumper for nicks, gouges, and how well it fits to the fenders

If you can, get the codes off the engine (2 characters on passenger side front of block, just below head, 7 digit casting number on passenger side rear of block, down low, just 'above' transmission), and cylinder head codes (usually 2 large characters/digits "raised" on the center two exhaust ports)