• 1 Post By BLK69JUDGE

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-27-2019, 05:56 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
1970 GTO won't start after mild tuneup.

Greetings,

This is my first time posting. I have an original 1970 GTO with the 400 engine. The engine was running fine until I changed some parts out.

I replaced the thermostat, and the gasket. I replaced the fuel filter, and I replaced the spark plugs. I did not touch the distributor/cap, or anything else.

The engine will turn over, but not start. The fuel filter will fill with gas clearly, so it's getting fuel. I even tried dumping some gasoline in the carb, but that did nothing. I double checked that the spark plug wires were connected, and they seem to be fine, though maybe the terminal is too far in the boot after I took them off??

I'm at a loss, and I only have basic tools (nothing to test electrical or power). I'm thinking at this point of just replacing all of the spark plug wires because they are fairly old.

Any guidance would be appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-27-2019, 06:16 PM
64-67 Expert

Quoted: 98 Post(s)
I suspect you messed up the firing order when you did the plug install. Verify that first. Also, you can pull the coil wire from the coil tower and hold it in place about 1/2 inch from the tower and have someone crank the engine to verify that you ARE getting a spark.
RMTZ67 likes this.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-27-2019, 06:17 PM

Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwayney View Post
Greetings,

This is my first time posting. I have an original 1970 GTO with the 400 engine. The engine was running fine until I changed some parts out.

I replaced the thermostat, and the gasket. I replaced the fuel filter, and I replaced the spark plugs. I did not touch the distributor/cap, or anything else.