1971 400/300hp - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-23-2009, 08:46 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
1971 400/300hp

Hey Guys. Newbie here. I am a 1972 Buick GS455 owner (we are all A-body cousins anyway right!!). I am helping out a buddy with a newly purchased 71 GTO 400. What are some common upgrades/products/part #`s to get a "smogger 400" up in the h.p #`s. Nothing crazy here, maybe 350-360 street horsies on pump gas (91-94 octane). A little bowl work/porting on the heads?..Scrap the heads?.. Cam?.. Intake?.. Headers? Not sure what works best on these Poncho motors. It appears to me that the 69-71 400`s use the same engine hardware except heads and intake..?? This is a TH400/3.23 car so I think a 2500 stall converter should work with this driveline. Any input is great!! Thanks!! Later,Tony.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-23-2009, 09:44 AM
64-67 Expert

Quoted: 105 Post(s)