2008 Ls2 400HP - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-05-2015, 02:26 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
2008 Ls2 400HP

I just got this baby and would like some advice. I am totally new to swaps, performance upgrades, etc when it comes to Ls engines.

I need to know the best cost effective automatic tranny, best cost effective cam upgrade, mount relocator, etc.
I would like to take the SBC from my 69 and install this there since it makes more sense to the pro-touring category.
Any input?????????
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-05-2015, 05:35 PM

Location: Gastonia, NC - Born & raised in Connecticut - 31 years
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 368 Post(s)
Garage
OH NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! chui1980 isn't goin' back with a Pontiac engine, he's upgrading with an LS mill. And all those months of forum counseling and Pontiac therapy just got flushed!

Well, I guess this is what the world is coming to. Honestly though, Pontiac engines are indeed becoming harder to find in many areas and when you do find one, prices are not so reasonable most of the times. No "cheap" deals in my area. Edelbrock just announced another re-design of their aluminum head. Cost? $1,300 each head. For $2,600, I could easily build a stout carbureted small block that included a pair of aluminum heads. And, if you need engine parts when going to that long distance show, you can get them.

Should be able to get some input here, but the swap is not inexpensive, so I'll stick with my Pontiacs, or when I do give in, it'll be a 496 Big Block with tunnel ram.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-05-2015, 07:36 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by PontiacJim View Post
OH NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! chui1980 isn't goin' back with a Pontiac engine, he's upgrading with an LS mill. And all those months of forum counseling and Pontiac therapy just got flushed!