2dr Sedan vs. 2dr coupe confusion - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-03-2014, 10:03 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
2dr Sedan vs. 2dr coupe confusion

I've been a huge fan of these cars since I was @ 10 years old and it has always been one of my bucket list cars. One came along at a price I couldn't refuse or even feel right if I tried to haggle. Anyway, I'm new to owning a 1967 Tempest so forgive me if this is a stupid question. I've been doing all kinds of research and my vin tag states its a standard Tempest 2dr coupe "23307" my question is, why do my doors have full frames around the door windows? Most the cars I see on the web and at shows have no frame around the glass. Shouldn't this frame along with the quarter glass frame make it a sedan? I see no description or explaination anywhere that differentiates a coupe from a sedan. It's probably something obvious I'm missing....
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-03-2014, 10:40 PM

Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Sedan is more of a "big car" term. The sport coupes are A.K.A. post cars (frame around windows) and the non post cars are called hardtop coupes.

The 33 series Tempest for 1967 were all post cars. You had to get the 35, 37 or 43 series to get away from the sport coupes (post).
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-03-2014, 11:06 PM Thread Starter

Thank you for the explanation. Now, was only one or the other used for the GTO trim or could you have a GTO post and a GTO non post car in 1967?

post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-04-2014, 01:20 AM

For 1967 the GTO came in 3 flavors: Sport Coupe (post), Hardtop Coupe (no post), and the Convertible.