66 gto - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-08-2015, 06:55 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
66 gto

Hey guys I'm new to all of this so please and thank you for all of the help in advance. I currently am looking at a 66 GTO, here is the link

1966 Pontiac GTO for Sale | ClassicCars.com | CC-588427.

However I know that a lot of the car is not original such as the engine, seats, or paint job. I was wondering if anyone can tell me if the guys asking price is too much for this particular vehicle? Again I have not dealt with GTO's before but have always wanted one. Despite all of my research I am not sure of the cars desirability nor value for things it has on it. Any information is greatly appreciated! Thank you guys!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-08-2015, 08:32 PM

Location: Gastonia, NC - Born & raised in Connecticut - 31 years
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Garage
PERSONAL OPINION. Too much $ for a non-original non-number matching car.

Car has 138,000 plus miles. These are not todays cars which go 250-300,000 miles. The older cars wear out quicker-way quicker. So in your search you need to ask when the ball joints, tie rod ends, upper & lower front bushings were replaced, drag link, pitman arm, shocks, and even springs. If they have never been serviced, figure on adding more $ to the $ you will already invest.

You want to know when the engine was rebuilt and how many miles since. Depending on the mileage, you may be looking for a rebuild and a Pontiac rebuild is not inexpensive.

Same with the automatic. Is it a TH-400 or TH-350?