User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-11-2008, 06:59 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
is this 68 GTO proj worth 66-7k?

hi everyone
this is only my second post as i am new to the GTO scene. I have a chance to trade my sporty bobber i built for this straight-up. i have about 6500 into my bike.

pics are here:
Kodakgallery.com*Join now and receive beautiful photographic prints from your camera

says the car runs/drives/stops good
has new harness
has a new rubber bumper not installed
a new hood not installed
new rear glass
2 decent rust spots
45k miles
4 spd muncie
10 bolt posi
thinks it is the original engine but not sure

i have too many bikes and am looking to sell / trade one of em foran older classic/muscle car. i know the GTO's hold value well plus i just plain like em. i know this will need work. i just dont want to short change myself.

thank you for any advice

- jason
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-11-2008, 07:05 AM
Former Super Moderator

Quoted: 21 Post(s)
The car looks a bit rough, but I still think I`d do it, but then again, I`m able to do almost everything myself to repair it.
Sporty`s are a dime a dozzen, GTO`s are worth a pretty penny put together, if you`re able to do the work yourself and have the money and time to finish it, I`d do it.
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-11-2008, 07:45 AM Thread Starter

thanks for the reply
i taught myself how to build bikes and have done 4 of them so far so i am not too scared to tackle a new project. my buddy restored his Goat from the ground-up so i have a great reference there. i would like to think i am smart enough to know when something needs to be done by a professional (like structure welds, paint).

i am not looking at starting a long-term resto project right away, but i would like a safe and reliable car to rip around in from time to time as the resto progresses.