User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-10-2011, 10:32 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello, newb here. :)

Hi guys,
Name's Jarred and I just picked up a 1970 Tempest Custom/LeMans and thought I would join here.

I'm new to ole skewl Pontiac's and have tons of questions that'll need answering in due time.

My car's originally a 6.6 car with a 3-speed auto.
Has a weak 326 in it right now rated at a whopping 250hp.. whoopie! Lol.

In the process of getting a 400 from a 78 T/a with the 2.11 valve heads. I cant seem to find the details about the heads though, casting number is 9791214 54?

So far this purticular engine I'm looking at is hard to get details on.
What do you guys recommend as far as getting around 400+ hp out of a 200hp rated t/a motor/heads?

Here's my car:

Need's a mild restore but its relatively clean despite never being restored.
Traded it for a 96 v6 firebird.

Also, checked the VIN and it seems its called a "Tempest Custom" But I cant seem to figure out what badges they had in '70? It's missing a bunch of badges but I have no clue which.

Thanks in advance, looking forward to building this car.

Jarred "Hot Rod" |1970 Pontiac LeMans Sport | Just a 350...

Last edited by Hot_Rod; 02-10-2011 at 10:46 AM. Reason: Sorry for the double post, computer was acting up...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-10-2011, 10:55 AM

Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
That's a really sharp car, I like the Lemans 6.6 stripes.

1966 GTO 428ci/4spd - spun bearing
post #3 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-10-2011, 11:00 AM

Welcome to the club.

Nice car.

post #4 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-10-2011, 11:06 AM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Indecision View Post
That's a really sharp car, I like the Lemans 6.6 stripes.
Thanks. I probably wont be keeping them though, car needs a paintjob and I hate the color. Definatly not a pontiac color. Lol.