User Tag List

2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 16 (permalink) Old 09-05-2019, 03:00 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello,

I understand what you are looking for. I know of a 1967 GTO that might fit your needs. Please email me at: [email protected].
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #12 of 16 (permalink) Old 09-05-2019, 03:08 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I understand what you are looking for. I know of a 1967 GTO that might fit what you are looking for in a driver type of vehicle. If interested, please email me at : [email protected]. Thanks...
post #13 of 16 (permalink) Old 09-14-2019, 05:43 PM
64-67 Expert

Quoted: 117 Post(s)
I've been using my GTO's as daily drivers for almost 40 years. I've put over 130,000 miles on my '67 convertible alone. When properly maintained, and if kept in good condition, these cars are as or more reliable than contemporary vehicles. They have more wind noise, and are more primitive, and don't have cup holders. That said, they are comfortable and reliable. I dropped the compression in my '67 to about 9:1 by installing 87cc cylinder heads. I also installed a 2.56 rear gear for high speed driving and economy. I consistently get over 20 mpg at 75-80 mph. If you get a stock early GTO, it will not be happy on CA 91 octane fuel. The compression needs to come down or the octane will need to be raised. I have an '05 Toyota pickup as my 'new' vehicle, but the newest CAR I've ever owned is my '67 GTO. Hope this helps. My cars are all points ignition and carbureted, BTW.

post #14 of 16 (permalink) Old 09-15-2019, 07:10 AM

Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Over the last few months I put a few 1000 miles on my 72. It has a five speed now so cruising on the highway is actually pleasant. It still has the bone stock engine so almost any gas will work without issues.