Pontiac GTO Forum banner

Illegal Car?

5K views 21 replies 15 participants last post by  geeteeohguy 
#1 ·
Here's the deal. A member here has been looking at car to purchase and passed this one along from Gateway Classic Cars. https://www.gatewayclassiccars.com/HOU/1545/1965-Pontiac-Tempest#desc

In checking out the car, I am using the GTO Association ID Guide to decode the car. Now I am no expert on ID'ing a car, but like most of us think I can read a VIN and Data Tag. I may be seeing this wrong, so passing this on for others to see what I am seeing. IF I am not mistaken, this Vin does not match the body type and neither the VIN or Data Tag match each other. Am I getting senile?

Car is a 2 Dr HT in the photo. The VIN says it is a 2 Dr Sports Coupe, ie a post car or what we call a 2 Dr Sedan. Here is how I read the Vin: 2=Pontiac, 33=Tempest, 27=2 Dr Sport Coupe (Sedan), 5=1965, P=Pontiac (Final Assembly Plant), 2=indicates V8 engine. I know that the different plants used different type of rivets to secure the VIN, but what I see is mostly the "rosette" style rivets on the 1965's. So I don't have enough knowledge to confirm what rivet head should have been used.

Now the Data Tag. Here is how I read this one: KAN=Final Assembly Plant, 65=1965, 2=Pontiac, 37= Lemans, 37=2 Dr Hardtop.

So in comparing the VIN to the Data Tag with respect to Final Assembly Plant, Body Style, and Model Type, they do not match. So, is it a Pontac or Kansas built car, a hardtop or sedan, a Tempest or Lemans?

Next, look at the Data Tag. It has the familiar "5N" on the lower left. The Option Code for the GTO on a Lemans is "5N." But again, the VIN says Tempest and the GTO Option was on the Lemans.

The car is red with a red interior. On the Data Tag you see 217 for the Trim and B-B for the Paint Code. Trim option 217 is listed as Dark Blue, and B-B is the paint code for Charcoal Blue.