Looking for advise about 68 hood tach - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 02-18-2005, 12:28 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Looking for advise about 68 hood tach

I'm new to vintage GTOs, so please pardon me if it shows.

I recently purchased a 68 GTO 400 h/o with M21 4 speed. The car is in good shape, and has most of the original stuff, including the complete drivetrain. But there is an aftermarket tach stuffed into the right socket of the 3-hole cluster. I'd like to install a hood tach, and fill the hole in the dash with something else - maybe a clock. Problem is, I don't know what was originally there, or what might work well as a substitute, or where to find it.

I'd like to keep the close to original, if possible, but I'm not going to be a fanatic about it. After all, I'd like to add a hood tach, eventhough my car was not originally equipped with one.

So, I need to find a hood tach that is correct for the year 1968 (the car was built in the 5th week of December, 1967). And I need something for the right instrument socket. Anyone have advise?

Thanks in advance for your time and consideration.
BarSundown
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 02-18-2005, 01:25 PM

The hole that was filled with a tach was originally used for a Rally clock. 68 GTO rally clocks are one year only.

As for the hood tach. You will have to drill/cut a hole in your original hood, which I would recommend against. Also you will have to buy or splice into your original wiring harness in the engine compartment. The hood tach does not have pig tails, but a plug that will have to be plugged into a modified wiring harness or aftermarket, if an original cannot be found.