looking for opinions - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-09-2014, 08:36 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
looking for opinions

I just bought a 1966 GTO for a restoration project. After looking for quite some time I purchased a fully optioned, matching #s, 66 hardtop, AC, power windows, PS,PB, auto. It is relatively rust free, and runs and drives. Although I have been a police officer for 33 years, I have "moonlighted" in the auto body field for years, and have performed several frame off restorations. However most have been Corvettes. I have been wanting a 66 GTO for years, as it was one of my first cars as a teen. Unfortunately, due to cancer, I was forced to retire, and will not be able to afford to keep the GTO once completed. So, my following questions are based on resale value. The car is currently a light tan with a black vinyl top, which I don't like at all. I was going to go with a bright red if I were keeping it. But, for resale, would I be better off staying with the factory cream color, or Black, or red? Am I better off removing the vinyl top, or replacing it (it has a few tiny bubbles). Also, I had planned on upgrading to disc brakes all around, along with a duel brake reservoir. But is keeping it all original more important than safety?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-09-2014, 09:45 PM
Administrator

Quoted: 10 Post(s)
For the best resale value it may best to sell the 66 as a survivor with only minimal repair cost out of your pocket. It is easy to get upside-down when restoring these car and when you change the color or mod the car beyond the original condition you could hurt your value if someone is looking for a car to return to showroom condition.

Randy

post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-09-2014, 10:12 PM Thread Starter

Quoted: 2 Post(s)