My Dads Old Goat - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-27-2008, 09:23 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My Dads Old Goat

Hey guys and gals, how is everyone doing? Well, it's my first time posting here, so I will give you guys my story.

My name is Tony and currently in the USMC (Semper Fi!!!), but this story is not about me. This story is about my father and his 1969 GTO. He came to America (from Mexico) in the early 70's. He didn't have much money and he needed to buy a car to get to work and back. Luckily he found someone selling the aforementioned car for cheap. Well, since that day in the early 70's, he has had it. He met the woman that would later be his wife (my mother) while driving in that car. They still tell me stories of their dates and what not...and always the GTO (with the 8-track) is mentioned. Well, family came before fun and my dad had to put the Goat to the side and get more family oriented cars. Over the years the GTO went from driven every weekend, to every month, almost never. We moved to a new city and didn't have the garage space to store it inside, so it spent a lot of time covered outside (in Southern California). We didn't have much money when I was growing up, so when I turned 16 my father gave it to me. Problem was I was expected to keep all my AP courses and continue playing sports...while paying for insurance. Needless to say that did not happen. The very same year that the title was signed over in my name, the city I lived in told us that we had to move the car...so it went to a family friend's garage in LA.