1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-01-2017, 01:21 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Garage
Need help from someone that gets vacuum

I had my car on a scope and they said at idle, (I think) number 2 cylinder was dragging a bit. Whether it was 2 or 4, it's the cylinder where the intake manifold feeds the vacuum to the power brake booster. The tech thought this cylinder may be dragging due to a vacuum leak.

Pulled the hose off of the brake booster and the engine barely changed behavior. Shouldn't it stumble quite noticeably? He put his finger over the hose and the engine really stumbled.

Now, I am not a vacuum expert, but with the finger over the hose, that should be similar to the hose hooked up to the booster, right? So my thinking is that the booster has a vacuum leak and the engine has been adjusted to over compensate for that.

I have a noticeable 'whirring' sound coming from up in the dash, could that be the vacuum leak?

More concerning is that under a load (most apparent in 3rd or 4th gear) I have excessive pinging, could that also be caused by that vacuum leak?

I guess I am hoping that if there is a vacuum leak, this will cure all my problems. Really what I need is some form of confirmation that this booster is leaking and it seems to me that if you pull that hose out of the booster, the engine should run dramatically different, poorly or not at all.

I appreciate your thoughts!

Mike

Torque (tork), n: 1. The tendency of a force to rotate the body to which it is applied. 2. See also: GTO
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-01-2017, 11:37 AM

Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Yes it sounds like your booster has a vac leak,....the whooshing sound under the dash is an indicator of that as well. Of course there is a vacumn manifold that is under the dash that works the heater blend doors from your dash controls.