1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-21-2019, 07:23 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
New Guy - fuel question for a 1969 GTO

Hi all,

I'm new to the forum and just purchased a 1969 GTO (it's coming from Georgia in about a week). It has a numbers matching recently rebuilt stock 400 engine, 350 hp, rebuilt auto tranny. My question is about the right gas to use (haven't seen anything recent on this in the forums, so please forgive me if this has been discussed ad naseum at some point in the past).

I'm not a mechanic, so the intricacies of what pistons, heads, valves, etc are best are pretty much lost on me. I can change simple things like plugs, belts, hoses, alternators, etc, and that's the extent of my abilities. I'm mainly interested in the experience of others with today's gasoline. I live in Washington state, near Seattle.

I've researched this a bit and there are so many different opinions on this that it's pretty confusing. Some people say theirs runs fine on 92 octane unleaded pump gas. Other say you have to up the octane to 95 or higher by blending in racing fuel. Others say to use additives such as TEL130 (the one most commonly mentioned).

One interesting article said to use the highest octane you can, put in a bottle of StaBil Marine to help with ethanol, then add some lead substitute to help the old valves and seats, and try it. If it pings, add a bottle of Octane 104. This guy must have been a chef in his previous life!

So specifically, here's my questions:

1. Should I start with 92 octane unleaded (which is the highest available here), no other additives, and see what happens?

2.If it pings, try adding an octane booster and if so which has worked well for you?

3. Regardless of anything else, should I always use an additive such as StaBil to counteract the effects of ethanol?