Newbie here with a pontiac 400 question - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-11-2016, 01:27 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Newbie here with a pontiac 400 question

I just finished building a mild 400 to go in a 1970 Lemans pro touring project. My question is can you run the heater hose into a water port on the intake instead of the cylinder head? I am using all steel braided line and there is not much clearance between the vac advance and the heater hose. Will make timing adjustment difficult. Thanks in advance
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-11-2016, 04:26 PM

That's a good question, I'm running mine (heater hose) from the back of the passenger side head (1970 400 #12 heads and intake).
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-12-2016, 06:58 AM Thread Starter

I want to run my return from the heater core into the water port in the intake. Seems like a good way to run it, however I see that no one else is doing it. Why??

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-22-2016, 11:27 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tafc18 View Post
I just finished building a mild 400 to go in a 1970 Lemans pro touring project. My question is can you run the heater hose into a water port on the intake instead of the cylinder head? I am using all steel braided line and there is not much clearance between the vac advance and the heater hose. Will make timing adjustment difficult. Thanks in advance
A bit off topic but I am curious, what does your mild 400 build look like ? What kind of work, cams intake etc.
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-24-2016, 06:35 PM

Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tafc18 View Post
I want to run my return from the heater core into the water port in the intake. Seems like a good way to run it, however I see that no one else is doing it. Why??