LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-12-2011, 07:32 PM Thread Starter
RIP (12/27/60-7/18/15)

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
push rods and rocker arms

While rotating the motor trying to find my "click",
I noticed that one of my pushrods has a point in its travel where there is no tension at all. and I am able to lift it up and down between lifter and rocker arm a good 1/16 of an inch or so.
Bad rocker arms?
(I have replaced as new just about everything in this motor)
thanks as always
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-12-2011, 07:51 PM

I think you may have adjusted your rockers incorrectly. Who made your cam and lifters?
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-12-2011, 08:15 PM Thread Starter
RIP (12/27/60-7/18/15)

crower

post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-12-2011, 08:29 PM

I have never used Crower before in a car. Motorcyle yes, but car no. What I think you need to do is read the instructions for adjusting your rockers arms again. Start at the beginning and readjust all of your rockers as per instructions.
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-12-2011, 09:02 PM
Super Moderator

Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Topkat View Post
While rotating the motor trying to find my "click",
I noticed that one of my pushrods has a point in its travel where there is no tension at all. and I am able to lift it up and down between lifter and rocker arm a good 1/16 of an inch or so.
Bad rocker arms?
(I have replaced as new just about everything in this motor)
thanks as always
Sounds like adjustment to me too, Top. The "best" way to do it is to follow a procedure Mr. P-Body espouses because that will result in a consistent preload across all 16 lifters. If perchance you've already filled/soaked the lifters in oil, then you'll probably want to use the alternate method.