Speedometer Cable ?? - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-04-2009, 03:20 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Speedometer Cable ??

Hi everyone, this is my first post here. I just bought a 72 GTO and I am starting the "Little things" fixes. The car is in very good condition, but not a numbers match, just a really nice driver. Transmission is a BW T-10. The original speedo cable is cut off at the firewall. Will a new cable connect to the T-10, or do I need an adapter? How does the cable route under the car to the trans? First of many questions to come.
AGETECH is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-04-2009, 03:25 PM
Former Super Moderator
 
Rukee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Central Wisconsin
Posts: 9,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
I would think the cable would fit. They usually run on the drivers side of the tranny to the same side frame rail, up along the shift linkage and brake booster, through the firewall and to the speedo.
Rukee is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-04-2009, 09:41 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
How does cable route to the right side of the trans? Does it go over the top?
AGETECH is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-04-2009, 09:46 PM
Former Super Moderator
 
Rukee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Central Wisconsin
Posts: 9,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
All the pictures of T-10 trannies I've seen have the speedo cable coming off the rear of the tranny on the drivers side. Your's comes off the passanger side?
Rukee is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-04-2009, 10:10 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Yes, cable connects on passenger side. I was told that I will need an 80" cable. But I don't see an easy way to route it. Maybe thats why the old speedo cable got cut off.
AGETECH is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-05-2009, 08:05 AM
Former Super Moderator
 
Rukee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Central Wisconsin
Posts: 9,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
I would think you would need a longer one. I just replaced one on a `82 GP with a turbo 350, (cable on the drivers side) and it was a 100" cable. Had a little extra room, but not enough to go around to the other side of the tranny.
Rukee is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-06-2009, 11:56 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I saw this same question on another forum. I guess the cable goes up over the trans.
AGETECH is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-07-2009, 04:19 PM
67 Basket Case Restorer
 
Too Many Projects's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Stillwater, MN
Posts: 2,717
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Garage
You most likely have a Muncie trans and yes, the cable goes over the top of the trans to be long enough. There should be/ were clips screwed to the body to help hold it up.
Ames Performance lists 2 cables 79-80 inches depending on how the cable attaches to the speedo head. One screws on and the other pushes on and is held with a clip.

Mitch
1967 GTO; Gulf Turquoise on Black, 4 speed, buckets SOLD
1967 Camaro ss/rs 350
1966 Chevelle SS 396
1966 Chevelle Malibu
1970 Chevelle SS 396
1962 Impala SS
1952 Chev 2 ton flat bed
1938 Chev coupe
Too Many Projects is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-08-2009, 10:04 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Trans is definately T-10, I'll have to check the cable at the speedo. That part of the cable is still there. Thanks for all the info.
AGETECH is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac GTO Forum > The 1964-1974 Pontiac Tempest, Lemans & GTO > 1964-1974 Tempest, Lemans & GTO General Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac GTO Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correct size for 66 gto speedometer?? Mr66GTO 1964-1974 Tempest, Lemans & GTO General Discussion 0 05-03-2009 07:37 PM
Calibrating a Speedometer Musicmike927 1964-1974 Tempest, LeMans & GTO Technical and Electrical Wiring 8 02-25-2009 12:42 AM
Help With Parking Brake Cable Removal WideTrack 1964-1974 Tempest, Lemans & GTO Exhaust, Suspension, Alignment, Fuel Tank and Brakes. 4 08-06-2008 06:45 PM
Digital Speedometer slow flicker?? TexasAggie 2004-2006 GTO General Discussion 3 08-16-2006 09:48 PM
need help getting the right speedometer cable gear ergo Service, Maintenance and Technical Discussion 2 05-07-2006 09:04 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome