5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 10-13-2018, 02:55 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Thinking of buying a 70 GTO but I need schooling

Hi all,
Recently I have saved up enough money to afford to buy something. One of the many things that came to mind was to get a new car. So for a couple months I have been browsing the internet at cars from a new Mustangs or a GM muscle car. I don't really like the new Mustangs but their easy to buy and you know exactly what your getting. I really would rather own an old muscle car but their a great distance away from me to go look at and I am not experienced or knowledgeable about what to look for so I know what condition the car is in and what it is worth. I am not looking for a show car but just a Sunday driver that I can take to car shows. So I don't care if the numbers match or the color is original. I just want a solid car that has never had major rust damage and never been wreaked.
I have found a few 70 GTO's I like but I'm not sure how to proceed. I can't travel 100's of miles just to find out it was not as advertised.
Is the old muscle cars market something that should only be played by wealthy collectors? I mean are they only for museums or do people drive them like normal fun. Back in the late 70's early 80's I owned a few muscle cars but I was 20 years old and a poor dumb kid that couldn't afford keep them. Now 40 years later I start thinking of buying one only to find out very few were good cars before they were restored.
Is it possible for me to hire someone to either help me buy one or find one for me without charging me more than I could afford? Or is this something I can do myself because I have wrenched a lot on my previous Chevelle's.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 (permalink) Old 10-13-2018, 03:11 PM
Super Moderator

Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Garage