Won't start! HELP! - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-11-2014, 08:30 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Won't start! HELP!

1968 GTO w/ 400. Eng and tranny have 9K miles. Last week after getting on the highway and having a little fun with her I stopped at a gas station. Came back out and nothing! A buddy jumped the car with no issues. The battery is brand new and reads ok. The car did fine for a week at normal driving conditions. I replaced the alternator just in case. Then yesterday after taking her on the highway and getting on her a little the same thing happened, but this time she won't even jump start! No sound at all with the key turn, WTH! Starter? Wiring harness? Short? I am a newbie, so go easy on me.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-11-2014, 09:53 AM

Buy or borrow a remote starter switch, or jump the solenoid terminals with a screwdriver to see if it turns over. Make sure you are bridging the +12v "BAT" terminal to the "S" terminal on the solenoid. IIRC, the S terminal has the purple wire.

If it cranks with either of those methods, then you'll know the problem is in the ignition switch or starting circuit/harness. Could be a bad ignition switch, a flaky neutral safety switch or an open circuit in the starter solenoid circuit.

1968 Pontiac GTO
1983 Pontiac Bonneville (G) wagon
2008 Pontiac G8 base
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-11-2014, 05:28 PM
Ace

Garage
Does it start okay after it sets and everything cools down? If so, it could be a "heat soak" issue with your starter. Just an idea.

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-12-2014, 06:57 AM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
My '67 did that. Eventually went to a high torque mini starter and Nbr 2 gauge cables. No hot start issues since.
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-29-2014, 04:36 PM