Yet another question-Repro 70 consoles - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-10-2011, 08:56 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warren, Ohio
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Yet another question-Repro 70 consoles

I think the one I have seen is on the OPGI site. It states that it is NOT for converting a car that didn't have a factory console.
I have also seen for sale, maybe even on the OPGI site, a floor bracket that the console mounts to.
If I get the bracket and install it in the proper location could I then use the console, or is there something else I am missing?

Thanks,
Russ
russosborne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-10-2011, 09:16 PM
Super Moderator
 
BearGFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Springtown, TX
Posts: 5,737
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by russosborne View Post
I think the one I have seen is on the OPGI site. It states that it is NOT for converting a car that didn't have a factory console.
I have also seen for sale, maybe even on the OPGI site, a floor bracket that the console mounts to.
If I get the bracket and install it in the proper location could I then use the console, or is there something else I am missing?
As far as I know, Russ, that bracket would be all you'd need. I know on my 69 that has a factory console, there's a square bracket on the rear of the tunnel that the console mounts to. That's the only difference. As usual though I'll defer to anyone who's actually done it with a 70. Heck, if you're handy with metal you could probably make your own bracket/mount. It's under the console so no one's going to see it anyway.

Bear

BearGFR
Springtown, TEXAS
BearGFR is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-10-2011, 10:12 PM
 
Instg8ter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Near Detroit
Posts: 3,931
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
The bracket is only thing that holds it in place and is simply a piece of 1.5" x .040 bent like a "W" that bolts to the hump and the console screws to it, the shifter also holds and positions it so you will need a correct floor shifter, or modify one to fit, i used a B&M quicksilver ratchet similar to the his and hers, cut the cable hub off the stock one and slotted it to bracket on the new shifter so i could use the factory style cable, you will also need the wiring harness from console to under dash, and the neutral lock out switch.
Instg8ter is online now  
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-10-2011, 11:14 PM
 
jetstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Niceville, FL
Posts: 3,376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Garage
I think they are refering to converting a column shift to a floor shifter. My 70 HAD linkage going from the tranny to the column with a factory floor shifter. I installed headers and the linkage bound, so I disconnected it. I think you lose the neutral safety shift in the conversion, but haven't tried it..

Burning rubber since 1982!!
My photobucket, lots of dif car pics.
http://s411.photobucket.com/home/jetstang
jetstang is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-11-2011, 07:39 AM
 
Instg8ter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Near Detroit
Posts: 3,931
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
my bad Jet, i am thinking 66' before they put the key in the column, i think in the 70's the neutral safety switch stayed in the column as you say and rotated the collar to activate switch...
Instg8ter is online now  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-11-2011, 03:28 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warren, Ohio
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks.
I will be converting from a column shift, but will get a shifter like the Quicksilver or similar that has the neutral switch ability if it is on the shifter and not the column. . Or who knows, maybe I will get a stock auto shifter. I don't even know what they look like.
If I ever get that far that is. :-)
Saw a floor shift column sitting on Craigslist forever, until I actually bought the car, and then of course it was gone.
Russ
russosborne is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-11-2011, 03:48 PM
 
Instg8ter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Near Detroit
Posts: 3,931
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Russ, i would get the 70 rally auto shifter it came with stock, they have the shift lock built into them when you throw it forward to upshift to second if you push it toward the passenger fender it will lock in and not over shift, i had one in my 69' bird not quite a ratchet or his/hers but the do the trick when you want to shift it manually if driving aggressively.

heres a few...do you all ready have the console?

http://motors.shop.ebay.com/i.html?_...506.m270.l1313

here is the quicksilver in stock console


Last edited by Instg8ter; 02-11-2011 at 04:00 PM.
Instg8ter is online now  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-11-2011, 06:12 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warren, Ohio
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks.
Nope, don't have one yet. Funny thing is I just found a 70-72 one with the shifter up in Michigan, around Grand Rapids. Guy is selling a bunch of muscle car stuff on craigslist. I sent him an email to see if he is willing to ship, since there is no way I could talk my wife into THAT drive. :-)
He also has a 70 140MPH cluster for sale. I think that was all the GTO stuff listed. He is going to be at a swap meet in that area this Sunday. Wish it were closer. Although I am sure if I tell my wife about it she will be happy it is far away.

Just looked at the ones you linked to. Ouch!. Way out of my price range right now.

Russ
russosborne is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-11-2011, 07:31 PM
 
Instg8ter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Near Detroit
Posts: 3,931
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
shouild'nt be too hard to ship it, does not weigh that much just oversized...i have a buddy that lives in Grand Rapids, let me know if you have a problem with him shipping it, i may be able to help you out if he won't.
Instg8ter is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac GTO Forum > The 1964-1974 Pontiac Tempest, Lemans & GTO > 1964-1974 Tempest, Lemans & GTO General Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac GTO Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
repro front bumper Eric Animal 1964-1974 Tempest, Lemans & GTO Complete Exterior Body 12 10-09-2010 03:42 PM
1969 Trunk Lid Repro??? 53 Blue Flame 1964-1974 Tempest, Lemans & GTO Convertible Top, Interior, Glass and Trunk 3 01-07-2009 09:12 PM
Repro Interior stuff Eric Animal 1964-1974 Tempest, Lemans & GTO Convertible Top, Interior, Glass and Trunk 16 03-24-2008 10:20 AM
Repro SAP Grilles, Installed! macgto7004 2004-2006 GTO General Discussion 12 11-13-2007 10:54 AM
Repro SAP Grilles, IN HAND!! macgto7004 2004-2006 GTO General Discussion 13 11-11-2007 07:29 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome