best gears for 67 gto 3 speed - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-09-2016, 09:43 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
best gears for 67 gto 3 speed

I just bought a 67 GTO...its a numbers matching 400..335 hp 3 speed...she seems a lil sluggish. My question is.. if I wanted to upgrade transmission gears and rear...what would be the best suggestion? I want to get off line so to speak a lot quicker,and be "more GTO-ish" and yet still be able to drive 75 miles to a car show with no worries. Im a roofer who loves hotrods,not a Mechanic, so pardon my ignorance
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-09-2016, 11:37 AM
Former Moderator

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
An old tired 335 isn't going to be more goatish and you need to decide if you want an around towner with a lower gear ratio or a freeway flyer with taller gears.
Mine has a 2.93 pegleg rear end and a TH-400.
Since it is also a parts matching car I didn't want to change the tranny or rear end so I had the engine rebuilt with a few changes to the internals but kept it looking stock.
It isn't a rocket off the line but when it goes into second it is very goatish.
I don't drag race it and do a lot of mountain driving so I really don't want posi, I don't need it to swap ends when I get on it coming out of a corner.
I would start with the engine, mine was a very tired 335 now it is a lot peppier and runs on pump gas.
At idle you can tell it doesn't have a stock cam and it easily hits 100 mph in second gear.
I would rebuild the engine first and run it then decide if you want to change the tranny and/or rear end.
I am a carpenter and a shadetree mechanic, there are others on here who can tell you a lot more about the different trannys etc.
You have to decide if you want a 1/4 miler, a freeway runner of something in between the options are only limited by your budget.