Locked Door Won't Unlock Or Open - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-28-2015, 06:32 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Locked Door Won't Unlock Or Open

So, I have a 1969 GTO and was having no issues operating the doors until I accidentally depressed the lock button on the driver's side door with my elbow while sitting in the car. While this should have not been a big deal, I am now unable to unlock the door, neither from the inside nor the outside, which also means that I can no longer open the driver's side door.

I've tried to pull up on the lock button pretty hard but it won't unlock. I'm afraid of pulling any harder for fear of breaking something. Using the key has also not worked. And with the door closed, I can't get the inside door panel off to get to the inner workings of the door (I think).

Does anyone have any suggestions? I'm a novice at car restorations so I'm hoping someone with more experience will have a trick or two I can try.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-28-2015, 06:45 PM

Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Same thing happened on my 67. The problem was the return spring that returns the strike plate on the inside of the door latch mechanism that is pressed by the outside button broke. I saw that strike plate not returning all the way flush with the inside of the door handle.

Roll down the window and take a long screwdriver and push that strike plate back in position toward the outside of the door. This strike plate will be directly behind the outside button. When you do this, it should allow you to pull up the lock.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-28-2015, 06:54 PM
64-67 Expert

Quoted: 111 Post(s)