User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-21-2014, 09:25 PM Thread Starter
nah

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
17x8 Wheels on 1967 GTO

I'm a newbie here. I have a 1967 GTO restored with 14" dry rotted wheels and tires and wish to upgrade to 17" for more modern look and room for future 4 wheel disc brakes. I have factory front discs and rear drums now.

Ok, I've been reading here for hours and I'm still not finding what I need, so here's my question.

I want to put HRH Classic Alloy Wheels 17x8, 5x4.75", 4" BS, -12mm offset on the front and back with 225/45/17 tires in front and 245/40/17 in rear.

The supplier is concerned the tire will rub in the front, because of the 8" and the wheel I want is not made in 7" (17x7).

I read the diameter should be 27.7" or less to avoid rub and the 225/45/17 is 26.1, so that part is good, but there is still concern for the width. A lot of folks with 17" seem to have 4.5 or more BS, but the style I want is 4".

Bottom line, will these fit? If not why and suggestion on what the limitations are please.

Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-21-2014, 10:38 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I think you need the 4.5" backspacing to run them. I have a staggered set-up on mine to prevent the fronts from rubbing. 17x8 in the rear (245/45/17) and 16x7 up front (225/55/16).

I like the stance but keep in mind the lower profile tires will give you a harsher ride. I sometimes wish I had a beefier sidewall on 15"s. 15s are also easier to find in most styles.

Andy
'67 GTO/Signet Gold over Parchment/Pontiac Built
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-21-2014, 10:48 PM

Quoted: 23 Post(s)