Installing Dougs headers D567 plus engine swap, 66 Lemans - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-16-2016, 10:23 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Installing Dougs headers D567 plus engine swap, 66 Lemans

Hi, I'm new here, in fact this is my first post.

I'm an old fart and have been working on cars and building engines since the 60's.

I'm currently doing an engine swap and other things to a 66 Lemans. Out with the 326 and Power Glide and in with a 428 and 200R4 with new shifter etc. Also new Dougs D567 headers. The car has PS, PB and A/C.

I'm just getting started on the engine pull. This is the first Pontiac I'm doing as I have always done Ford cars.
Sorry, I know that is frowned on, but it is true. The big difference is shock towers vs no shock towers.
I was looking at the tiny amount of clearance there is to the suspension. I'm looking for pointers on what to do and not to do to make this go as easy as possible.

I've been reading old posts and the Dougs seem to fit the best but no one explained the procedure.
I mean do you have to lift the engine off the mounts to get at the bolts on the stock cast iron manifolds? Do the headers actually slip in from the bottom? How the heck do you get the bolts in them?

I know I'll be pulling the engine and trans together and not removing the stock manifolds, but, I still would like to know how you guys put headers in these cars.

Is it possible to bolt the headers to the engine/trans while it is out of the car and drop it into the car with the headers on? I've done that on other cars, just wondering if I could do that on the Lemans.

Just looking at the bolt locations an angles makes my back hurt...