Sunday numbers questions - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-26-2014, 09:17 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Sunday numbers questions

So I'm finally getting around to looking at the numbers on the '69 I bought in March (and have driven about 5 times) and getting it up on stands and checking out everything underneath. It has 89,000 miles +/- on a working odometer, 400 ci, TH400. Original A/C car (not currently working).

I bought it from one of those fancy midwest auto sites where they do a resto-lite, have really sweet pics and it looks great on the web. I know, I know. . . what can I say and I'm a busy trial lawyer. I've wanted a GTO since I was in high school so I went with what made the most sense for me.

In my youth I actually did quite a bit of work on my cars mostly jeeps and trucks though, so I'm not totally ignorant (except I was never very good at body work), I just have no real time at this stage of my life to devote to resto work as much I would LOVE to. Most everything significant that needs to be done on this car will have to be outsourced.

She definitely has had some body work and coated with 1/2" of undercoating to cover anything that might look amiss from more than a few feet away - but not as rusty as I thought it might be under all that. I'm not going to run a magnet over it and potentially get disappointed. The paint (which is nice and shiny) is a 5 footer in any case. There are some spots (mostly hood and trunk) that could have been done better.

It is not all original at it has Edelbrock intake and demon carb as well as electronic ignition - which I'm fine with as I'm not that concerned about having an all original car and might do more of a resto mod on it once I've driven it more (hey - you guys are always saying buy the best car you can and do what makes you happy).