LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 02-09-2011, 08:51 AM Thread Starter
MaL

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to MaL
VIN tag restoration

I stupidly left the VIN tag on the firewall when I had the car blasted.
Of course it's now beat up.

Does anyone offer replacement VIN tags? Or is restoration possible? I thought I saw a post about this, but could not find it when I searched.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 02-09-2011, 07:09 PM

That sucks man, I've never heard about a VIN tag restoration or reproduction, though I am far from an expert.

I found this just googling around TRIMTAGS.COM maybe they can help.

1966 GTO 428ci/4spd - spun bearing
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 02-10-2011, 10:04 AM Thread Starter
MaL

$235 for them to send me a new tag. I may just have to decline that and stick with my eaten up one. dang.

post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 02-10-2011, 10:13 AM
Former Moderator

Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
They don't do VINs anyway, just data tags. Apparently, they will put anything you want on those tags except changing it from a Lemans to a GTO, etc..... They will change the codes for the color, options etc.... Wouldn't that be fun trying to figure it out why the data tag doesn't match PHS..... You do have to provide proof that it really is a GTO or whatever b/4 a tag is made. They wont change the "Style" numbers....

SOLD.....
462ci, 4spd
Performer Intake, Mild Cam
Pertronix Ignitor III
Accel Super Coil, Accel 8.8mm Wires
post #5 of 23 (permalink) Old 02-10-2011, 11:17 AM
Super Moderator

Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Garage
Idea? Remove the tag and stamp it from the backside. You can find metal stamping dyes at like Harbor Freight.
Lay the tag upside down. Mask tape it and lay out all numbers letters backwards then lightly stamp it with the tag on a hardwood.