67 400 Timing/Carb Help - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-08-2016, 12:28 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
67 400 Timing/Carb Help

I have a 1967 GTO. I had a lifter go bad and wore a cam lobe. I rebuilt the top end. I have it all back together and I have it starting up. This is my first time setting timing. I currently have it set at 8 degrees BTDC. The old book manual I have for it says stock was at 6 degrees BTDC. I have tried it there as well. I can get it running but idling a little rough. When I am in the garage and I rev the motor, it is not missing. However, when I took it out to see how it drove I noticed it would start missing at high speeds and/or under a load. I am just not sure if it is a carburetor issue or a timing issue? For a slightly more aggressive cam should the timing be further advanced? It also seems to be very jerky when I give it gas above the 3000RPM range. I noticed the jerk in 1st gear just rolling slowly as well.

Engine specs: 67 Pontiac 400 bored .040 over with a 3.75in stroke, 67cc 1969 ram air heads, 10.5-1 compression ratio, Edelbrock 650 performer carburetor, Edelbrock performer series intake, Edelbrock performer RPM camshaft, Edelbrock valve spings, Edelbrock timing chain, Comp Cams roller tip rockers. Running 93 octane fuel. The carb, cam, springs, timing chain, rockers, and push rods were all replaced with this rebuild.

I appreciate any help. Just hoping to get it back running good again.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-08-2016, 10:04 AM
64-67 Expert

Quoted: 100 Post(s)