User Tag List

3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-12-2017, 08:54 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
68 Running Rich?

So, I'm not a mechanic but I like to fix stuff and figure stuff out. I'm in a little over my head here, but I'd like to figure this out and learn along the way.

Here's the deal, I purchased a 68 gto a week ago. Car was restored looks pretty, and sounds great. Car looks like a rocket ship, but on my test drive felt like a slug. The good thing was the way it drove got me a good deal on the car. On Friday I did a basic tune up. Replaced the plugs, wires, cap, and rotor. All the plugs where all equally fouled. They where all actually a little wet. After the tune up the car drove like it looks. Spin the tires at will. After a short drive the car started lacking the ability to burn rubber, and it seems like it's progressively getting back to where it was. Not quite as bad, but getting there. I'm hopeful that this is a carb adjustment issue, and assuming the plugs are fouled again. The car is set up with two four barrel eddelbrock carbs. I was told they are 500 cfm, but have not had a chance to confirm this (only had it a week and have too many other irons on the fire). The car was supposedly bored "30 over" too. The timing read at 8, but I did not check it again after the tune up. Only other thing I've done mechanically was clean the carbs with gumout and lubed the linkages. I did notice yesterday that one of the electrical connections to the choke was disconnected. I'm guessing that this was done in an attempt to lean out the mixture.

So, I ordered a couple vacuum gauges and will be ready to have at it again when I get a moment. Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Tooth
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7774.JPG
Views:	52
Size:	1.05 MB
ID:	92033   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7817.JPG
Views:	45