User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-31-2015, 09:22 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
disapointed 428 build

Hello, newbie here,

I'm sorry for asking as I'm sure this is an old topic but your advice to other PMD lovers seems very sound.
I fell for the smooth talking schmuck who was more interested in my money and parts than building an honest motor. Prior to this motor I had a 70 TA with 370hp so I use this as comparison. The 68 428 I had built for my 68 GTO is no comparison to the 70 TA motor. Long story short the 428 will have to come out a second time for a rear main leak, the first was the crank hitting the windage tray, no excuse for either. Still makes me sick. I have tuned and timed it till the cows came home. New HEI, 2.5 Exhaust, Flowmasters
My question is will Edelbrock alum heads bring my motor to life?
Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.
Below is what was supposedly put in the motor.
The motor started out a untouched 1968 pontiac 428. first the motor was cleaned and magnifluxed, The motor was bored and honed out 030, fresh, then new std 455 pistons where used. new molly rings, recondition rods, new rod and main bearings, cut and polished 455 crankshaft, more torque with the longer stroke. Then new 60lb oil pump. new timing chain set, new cam bearings, windage tray, new gasket set, new lunati cam and hyd. lifters. 490 lift, 230 - 240 [email protected] .050. put on adjustable rocker arm locks, The heads where 6x-4, replaced exhaust valves, new comp springs, keepers, retainers new,pc seals complete valve job, resurfaced heads,91ccs. 1972 gto intake, no egr, to fit the heads.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	100_1632.JPG
Views:	287
Size:	1.15 MB
ID:	69610  

Last edited by oldgoat1968; 12-31-2015 at 09:27 AM. Reason: need mor info added
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-31-2015, 10:34 AM

Quoted: 4 Post(s)