4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 35 (permalink) Old 10-02-2018, 09:39 AM Thread Starter
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Garage
Experiences in Carburetor Tuning (was: Question...)

I'm in the process of tuning my new carburetor after my recent rebuild, and am working through some issues. Would folks here be interested in a running commentary of what I'm working on and how I'm doing it? I've got at least one problem that I'm still trying to figure out - I think I'm "on its trail" but it's still not fixed.

In the past I've been very vocal about how much I like Quadrajets. That hasn't changed, it's just that my engine I believe is to the point where my QJet isn't big enough to feed it so I've told myself I'm being 'forced' down a different path.

Up to ya'll - let me know - and oh, if anyone has already dealt with and solved the problems I'm hitting, myself being a first-time Holley newbie, I'd sure love to hear the solution.

Thanks,
Bear
deanhickey likes this.

BearGFR
Springtown, TEXAS
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 35 (permalink) Old 10-02-2018, 01:21 PM

Quoted: 7 Post(s)
IMIN!
I seem to learn a ton of good info from guys like you Bear!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Today is the only day that truly matters; Here's hoping that your's is beautiful.
post #3 of 35 (permalink) Old 10-02-2018, 08:20 PM

Quoted: 11 Post(s)
+1 for your troubleshooting story. I have a very old Carter 9635 and a newer 9635SA that both need rebuilding. The more I read about what others are doing makes it easier for me to take the plunge and try the rebuild myself...

post #4 of 35 (permalink) Old 10-03-2018, 01:07 AM

Quoted: 73 Post(s)
"...I like Quadrajets. That hasn't changed, it's just that my engine I believe is to the point where my QJet isn't big enough to feed it so I've told myself I'm being 'forced' down a different path..."