sonic testing, minimum wall thickness - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-13-2016, 11:05 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
sonic testing, minimum wall thickness

What's the minimum cylinder wall thickness for a Pontiac 455?

After much reading, I saw .100" on non-thrust and .160" on thrust side, but it wasn't specific for Pontiacs. Block is std bore now with .132" on one cylinder's non-thrust side and I want to bore .030". I always heard .060" can be done on all Pontiac blocks, which would be close on this one.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-14-2016, 06:11 PM

Location: Gastonia, NC - Born & raised in Connecticut - 31 years
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 361 Post(s)
Garage
I'm no math expert, but boring the block .030" over does not take .030" out of the cylinder walls because you are talking diameter, so it should be half of that or .015", which should be within the specs you provided - and I can't verify those numbers, only your machinist can do that.

That said, if you went .060" over, .030" would be removed from the walls which would still put you right at the maximum safe bore for that block according to your figures.

Again, not an expert in this area, so don't believe me. Ask your machinist who should be able to give you a qualified answer.
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-15-2016, 02:48 AM Thread Starter

Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Your math is right.

If .100 IS okay, then I'm good with .030 removed from the diameter - would leave .117 wall thickness from .132. Allowing for (hopefully no) damage, someday I may need .040, then .060. At 60 years old, I don't think I'll be doing 3 rebuilds on the motor considering it won't be daily driver. I was just curious if .060 could be removed as I'm trying to learn.