1969 400 rebuild help - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-05-2012, 10:31 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
1969 400 rebuild help

I'm in the middle of restoring a '69, and am to the point of rebuilding the trans (TH400) and the motor. Which seems to be all numbers matching to the car. This car will probably be driven fairly regularly. At least a couple times a week. So... My question, what would "the experts" here recommend for the motor rebuild? I obviously want the most power possible. But need to keep it on pump gas so it can be driven a lot. I'll take any advice you guys have to give. I have no knowledge as to what is inside the motor at this time. I have had it running, been never driven. (Trans leaking out the front pump) It seemed to be running quite good from what i could tell. The heads (62 heads) have definitely been to a machine shop. (newer style freeze plugs in them) Other than that, it all looks factory. Intake manifold. Rochester carb. Factory exhaust manifolds. I would prefer to still use the same heads. Not go the stroker route. Other than that, tell me what you would do if it was your car looking for the same daily driver mixed with decent power outcome.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-06-2012, 09:05 AM
Super Moderator

Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Garage
I love strokers (and have one) but if you're going to keep the original 62 heads and want to stay inside a budget, then I'd recommend you not build it into a stroker (slight pause here while everyone on the forum regains conscousness )

The reason being, those heads on a stroker motor would put your compression ratio too high for safe running on pump gas without doing other things to the motor to get it "back down".

Beyond that... making power is all about air-flow, so depending on how much budget you have here are things to consider: