User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-23-2013, 04:17 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
1st Drag Run - Need Advice!

Hey Guys,

I am looking to take the 66 up to BIR this weekend to make a few runs on the 1/4 mi. While I can do a great job setting the car up to turn left, I have never been on the 1/4 mile!

My intent is to just go and have some fun, seeing what kind of speed I can get with a non-race setup on street tires. But... to get the most from what I have, what are your thoughts on tire pressure and air-bag pressure?

Here are the basics:

--4spd
--3.31 Chevy 12 bolt
--rear air bags with separate air lines
--255/60/15 Goodyear GT street radials.

Any other suggestions?

Thanks! Hopefully the car will make the 2hr drive back home afterwards...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-23-2013, 05:08 PM
64-67 Expert

Quoted: 118 Post(s)
I'm no pro drag racer, but from what I've read, you want a bit more pressure in the passenger side bag. I'd start with about 8psi in the driver's side and 12-15 psi in the passenger's side bag. As for tire pressure with street rubber, I'd drop it down to 25-26 psi....if you go too low you risk spinning the tire on the rim or breaking more driveline parts, if you hook up really solid. You might want to start out by leaving at about 2500-3000 rpm with some feathering of the clutch to help traction. In a 1966 article I have, they drag test a near new '66 GTO and their launch technique was simply to drop the clutch at 5200 rpm off the line. They had slicks, though, and netted mid 12's with the bobcatted car. If you dump the clutch at high rpm, all you'll get is a lot of wheel spin and a slow time. It takes a lot of practice, and a lot of trial and error to get the best out of the car AND the driver. I think the biggest thing is timing your leave....you don't want to red light, but you don't want to wait for the green, eithe