california build engine - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-13-2013, 05:13 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
california build engine

My deal for a 455 fell through for my tempest clone so im on the search for a new motor.
ebay has a 67 ys short block and listing says its a california build not sure what california build means im a newbie

Thanks in advance
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-14-2013, 10:31 AM
Super Moderator

Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Garage
GeeTee will probably chime in here as the California expert, but probably it means that it's from a car that actually had the A.I.R. pump installed and operating (as opposed to a 49-state car that had the A.I.R. passages in the heads but came with them plugged and no pump installed).

This is only significant if you plan to use those heads (probably casting number 670). If you're going to use other heads, it's a non-issue. Be aware that those 670's on a stock or overbored engine will result in a compression ratio that will be very marginal for pump gas, if that's your plan.
What are you going to build?

Bear

BearGFR
Springtown, TEXAS
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-18-2013, 09:07 AM Thread Starter

Im just building a street car its a tempest that i bought with a good running cadillac 425in it.
I want to put a pontiac motor back in it.I have a 1975 complete 400 (185HP)with 6x heads i got for $200.Im trying figure what to do I want some power nothing crazy.I can get that 67 (335hp) shortblock for $800 sellers says it needs to be freshened up thats it.Do i or can i get that and put the 6x heads on it.Once again im new to this and really could use the advise

Thanks again

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-18-2013, 02:08 PM
Super Moderator

Garage