• 1 Post By bigD
  • 1 Post By denrael

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-14-2018, 02:06 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Timing chain adjustment

Hey everyone! First of all let me start by saying this is my first restoration/rebuild and I am still learning. I have been relying on numerous publications to get me through the restoration process. I recently purchased a rebuilt 389 that has been sitting for years (YS motor from a 66 GTO). I will be using this engine for my 69 GTO RAM AIR IV restoration. I will be putting Edelbrock 82cc round port heads on shortly. Anyways.... because the engine was sitting so long, I wanted to make sure everything was lubricated and ready to rock n roll before I start putting it together. I noticed the cam gear dot and the crank gear dot do not line up at the 12 o'clock position. I turned over the engine a few times hoping the dots would line up at 12 o'clock but no luck. When my 1 cylinder is TDC, the cam gear is just about 6 o'clock and my crank is at 4 o'clock. I attached a few photos for you to look at. Here are my questions....

1. is this an issue?
2. how do I go about fixing this?

Thanks in advance!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Timing chain.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	1.81 MB
ID:	114787   Click image for larger version

Name:	Timing chain 2.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	1.66 MB
ID:	114789   Click image for larger version

Name:	1 TDC.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	1.57 MB
ID:	114791  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-14-2018, 07:51 AM

Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Looks to me like you just need to rotate the crank slightly counterclockwise to line up the dots.

That set appears to have 3 keyways: standard, 4 advance, & 4 retard. Make sure you're looking at the right dot or mark that should be used for the keyway you used.