anybody use house of kolor primers and paint? - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-29-2013, 03:03 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
anybody use house of kolor primers and paint?

I'm looking for some customer reviews on house of kolor products. I am planning on buying their KD3002 primer for my roof and BC25 jet black base for the rest of the body. For the base coat colors I want (also HOK) I was told that these would be the best primers. I have heard that HOK KD3000 series primers double as primer and sealer. So I should be able to apply the first coat on top of the bare metal, original primer and body filler, then sand that down, add another coat then sand that down and then i'll be ready for my color right? I'm very new to this process so I don't know the terms and actions to take all that well. So any help / answers / recommendations etc. and product reviews will be greeaatly appreciated. Thank you so much in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-29-2013, 11:24 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have used HOK many times over the years. They make excellent products that give incredible results IF used correctly. BUT it can be very unforgiving too. One wrong gun stroke expecially with a kandy will ruin the job. It is notoriously difficult to apply and even House of Kolor recommend a lot of experience before attempting to use.
The KD primer will do exactly what it says it will and is really nice to sand back too. Im a bit confused about what you said about using kd on roof and bc black for rest of body. Are you going to use the primer on the whole body? The base coat will not adhere well to old paint. It needs a primer/sealer base.
What color are you painting the car?
Hope this helps
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-30-2013, 05:51 AM
Former Moderator

Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Garage