402 Stroker output - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-29-2005, 09:53 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
402 Stroker output

I was thinking about getting the 402 stroker kit for my GTO but I was wondering what the hp and trq rating on the kit was after the motor was complete.
smkdu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-29-2005, 10:09 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to ftlfirefighter Send a message via Yahoo to ftlfirefighter
That depends ALOT on cam and heads mate, not to mention how well it's tuned!
ftlfirefighter is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-29-2005, 10:32 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
If you had to make a guess what it be? High guess and low.
smkdu is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-29-2005, 10:38 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to ftlfirefighter Send a message via Yahoo to ftlfirefighter
500crank hp isn't that out of the question. A set of LPE LS6 heads and their GT1 cam should suffice. Say 400 for stock LS1 parts and 450 for stock LS2. More displacement will always give you more torque. HP is acutally just math. Hp= torque x RPM / 5252
ftlfirefighter is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-29-2005, 10:46 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ftlfirefighter
500crank hp isn't that out of the question. A set of LPE LS6 heads and their GT1 cam should suffice. Say 400 for stock LS1 parts and 450 for stock LS2. More displacement will always give you more torque. HP is acutally just math. Hp= torque x RPM / 5252
So basically with the setup your suggesting it would pretty much give me the stock LS2 numbers give or take. What would I need to get it into the 500 Hp range. And let me add that your GTO looks badass.
smkdu is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-30-2005, 08:30 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3,541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
This is a quote directly off of GM High Performance magazine talking about SLP's ZL-402 GTO....
"The two cams that we sampled in the ZL-402 were very similar in power production (496 to 484 rwhp), but worlds apart in driveability"
.... keep in mind this is rwhp not crank! Check out this link for more information!

http://gmhightechperformance.com/features/0507htp_slp/
Hope this helps!
GTODEALER is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-30-2005, 11:17 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTODEALER
This is a quote directly off of GM High Performance magazine talking about SLP's ZL-402 GTO....
"The two cams that we sampled in the ZL-402 were very similar in power production (496 to 484 rwhp), but worlds apart in driveability"
.... keep in mind this is rwhp not crank! Check out this link for more information!

http://gmhightechperformance.com/features/0507htp_slp/
Hope this helps!
Thanks a lot I also found out that B&M's mega shifter will work with the GTO 4L65 auto trans mission as long as you buy the right transmission kit.484RWHP and a megashifter sound like the GTO of old what do you think
smkdu is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-01-2005, 10:24 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Good article on the 402. Looks like with the milder cam, it was GREAT on the street and made good power.

Anyone got a 402 w/turbos?
GOTPWR is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-01-2005, 09:57 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Can't wait to get the extra cubic inches and put them to work.
smkdu is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-07-2005, 11:14 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
What kind of tranny mods would I need to handle that much power I have the A4
smkdu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac GTO Forum > The 2004-2006 GTO > Service, Maintenance and Technical Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac GTO Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome