4sp Auto.. - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-26-2007, 04:15 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
4sp Auto..

Long story short, i bought a used 05 gto back in march and it has a 4sp auto tranny. I was wondering how much difference there is compared to the manual in terms or performance.

Also, is there any feasible way that you could convert the car to manual? Oh, and how well would the 4sp be able to handle a s/c or turbo?

Thanks!
KenMan911 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-26-2007, 07:10 AM
 
GOATTEE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have a 6 speed. My understanding from other post are that the auto has a slightly better 0-60 times but after that the 6 speed is faster. The auto has taller gears. I have also read that the 6 speed is better on the twisty roads as far as speed. I would not attempt the conversion from auto to 6 speed. To be honest it sounds expensive and would for sure void any factory warranty. Enjoy your new car.

2006 Cyclone M/T..K&N CAI.
GOATTEE is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-26-2007, 07:46 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by KenMan911 View Post

Also, is there any feasible way that you could convert the car to manual?

Thanks!
You would need:

Transmission
Pedals
Wiring harness
hydrolic lines&fluid resevior
flywheel, clutchplate, pressureplate
Shifter assembly (the interior trim that would have to be changed)

The PCM is the same part# for both auto&manual, but when you program it with the tech2 you have to select :Manual or Automatic, so while you wouldnt have to replace your PCM, it would have to be reprogrammed.

It's the same thing for the cluster. It would have to be reflashed to not show PRND321.

If you are serious about a trans swap, it can be done, but between parts and labor, it would be costly.

Last edited by PEARL JAM; 08-26-2007 at 07:48 AM.
PEARL JAM is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-26-2007, 12:57 PM
 
Tacmedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville TN
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PEARL JAM View Post
You would need:

Transmission
Pedals
Wiring harness
hydrolic lines&fluid resevior
flywheel, clutchplate, pressureplate
Shifter assembly (the interior trim that would have to be changed)

The PCM is the same part# for both auto&manual, but when you program it with the tech2 you have to select :Manual or Automatic, so while you wouldnt have to replace your PCM, it would have to be reprogrammed.

It's the same thing for the cluster. It would have to be reflashed to not show PRND321.

If you are serious about a trans swap, it can be done, but between parts and labor, it would be costly.
You would be better off selling and buying another. I have seen it done on other cars, but it is a big project, especially with all the electronics, (dash, auto lock doors, ect..)
Tacmedic is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-26-2007, 04:53 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tacmedic View Post
You would be better off selling and buying another. I have seen it done on other cars, but it is a big project, especially with all the electronics, (dash, auto lock doors, ect..)
Ya, ive pretty much decided against the conversion lol..sounds like a bit of an adventure. So how about forced induction? I have heard good things about the APS TT... Anybody have any suggestions?
KenMan911 is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-27-2007, 04:11 PM
 
The_Goat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Funny, I'm getting a little sick of my 6M and was thinking of swapping the tranny out for an auto...
The_Goat is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-17-2007, 05:05 PM
kgc
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have a magna charger '06 (the LPE 530hp option) and it's a rocket. Traction, even with 275's is a joke. Fast but slippery if you aren't careful.
kgc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac GTO Forum > The 2004-2006 GTO > Service, Maintenance and Technical Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac GTO Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome