Burned CD's...WTF - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 02-17-2007, 04:15 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Burned CD's...WTF

Everytime I burn a CD the stereo refuses to play it....I get an error message...what gives. Any help would be greatful. Thanks in advance
joecop30 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 28 (permalink) Old 02-17-2007, 04:20 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Make sure you are not burning in MP3 or 4 format. Mine works great in WMA format.
aintmisbehavinn is offline  
post #3 of 28 (permalink) Old 02-17-2007, 04:43 PM
Super Moderator
 
GTO JUDGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 8,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Garage
I have like 13 CD's I burned. Most of them came from Limewire. Many are mp3 files. Every song plays with prerecorded quality.

President: GTO Association of America
www.gtoaa.org


GTO JUDGE is offline  
 
post #4 of 28 (permalink) Old 02-17-2007, 06:35 PM
 
pickinfights's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Baraboo WI
Posts: 1,117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My 04 will not play most burned CDs. I put a thread out one time about it.
pickinfights is offline  
post #5 of 28 (permalink) Old 02-18-2007, 08:16 AM
Super Moderator
 
GTO JUDGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 8,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Garage
We all have the same stereo, I don't understand why some cannot play burned CD's. Could it be the recording process, or how the original was created? Maybe the stereo's from 04' to 05' and 06' is different in the playback? Maybe it's the type of CD being used? I know DVD+ and - is tricky on some machines, are some CD's the same? I haven't played a CDRW in my car, I don't know if it would work or not.

I'm not into the electronics of stereos etc, so I am somewhat ignorant to the functions. I would assume some prerecorded CD's, like movies are copy guarded? I haven't had a problem with any burned music from Limewire. I am recording older classic rock music though, not the new junk, top 40, or hip hop rap crap that is out there. Maybe the newer music from current artists is copy guarded?

My dad once said, if you cannot whistle a tune to it, it ain't music. How do you whistle a tune to rap?

President: GTO Association of America
www.gtoaa.org


GTO JUDGE is offline  
post #6 of 28 (permalink) Old 02-18-2007, 09:11 AM
 
The_Goat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
All my burned CD's work fine...
The_Goat is offline  
post #7 of 28 (permalink) Old 02-18-2007, 09:49 AM
 
pickinfights's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Baraboo WI
Posts: 1,117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I mainly have a problem with the burned cd's that were made with itunes.
That program sucks all the way around.
pickinfights is offline  
post #8 of 28 (permalink) Old 02-18-2007, 10:00 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I just convert from MP3 to WMA or CDA with windows media player and mine work fine. Not sure about 04 and 05. It works on my 1990 cd player in the garage. Must be something with your format. I don't think I-tunes will work but I think there's a converter you can plug in that will convert but it is used on the cassette player. I think they also have a frequency translator like XM radio that works.
aintmisbehavinn is offline  
post #9 of 28 (permalink) Old 02-18-2007, 11:18 AM
 
pickinfights's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Baraboo WI
Posts: 1,117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Yeh, I have the itrip, but is sounds like ass. I guess I will just have to support the musicians I listen to, and buy there cd's.
pickinfights is offline  
post #10 of 28 (permalink) Old 02-18-2007, 01:04 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pickinfights View Post
My 04 will not play most burned CDs. I put a thread out one time about it.
I had the same issue.
Taxman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac GTO Forum > The 2004-2006 GTO > Service, Maintenance and Technical Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac GTO Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome