CAI Causing Check Engine Light.....? - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-27-2006, 02:19 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
CAI Causing Check Engine Light.....?

I have a '04 with a New Era CAI, other wise stock. The car set a (left & right bank) Lean code. Has anyone else had this problem after installing a CAI???

Is this normal?

Any help would be appreciated!

Travix
BlownGTO is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-27-2006, 05:43 PM
 
fergyflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Eustis Fl.
Posts: 3,445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I've heard of 05's throwing codes with a CAI, but not the 04. Try starting over with the install. Make sure there isn't anything loose or not seated properly. If everything appears to be on correct then disconect the battery and clear the code. This time do not immediately get on it, but kinda let the computer get adjusted to having the less restrictive intake.
fergyflyer is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-27-2006, 05:50 PM
 
johnebgoode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Long Island
Posts: 910
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Disconnect the battery for 30 mins. This will let computer wind down. Make sure all your wiring for MAF is connected properly. Check for bent or mis aligned pins in the connector ,reconnect battery.
johnebgoode is offline  
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-27-2006, 06:17 PM
 
SoGaGTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I was discussing CAI with my dealership (maint. mgr.) and he told me one of the brands would leak oil and cause the check engine light to come on. I believe it was the New Era CAI but I'm not sure. He said they haven't had any trouble with the K&N CAI. I have a 2005 so I'm not sure this applies to the '04s.
SoGaGTO is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-27-2006, 06:32 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnebgoode
Disconnect the battery for 30 mins. This will let computer wind down. Make sure all your wiring for MAF is connected properly. Check for bent or mis aligned pins in the connector ,reconnect battery.
Yea I did that on Saturday to reset the SES light and clear the code. Ive already checked all the MAF connections. It set the light almost a month after I installed the CAI.
BlownGTO is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-27-2006, 07:31 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlownGTO
Yea I did that on Saturday to reset the SES light and clear the code. Ive already checked all the MAF connections. It set the light almost a month after I installed the CAI.
hmm are we sure it's the CAI then? I mean, the MAF is there to determine how much fuel to send to the cylinders, not complain when it's getting more air than stock. If they all did that, dry nitrous kits wouldn't work.
CrabhartLSX is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-02-2006, 12:50 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
A month would give that oil about the right amount of time to build up on the MAF. You might want to have a look at it to make sure there's no dust/dirt/oil on there. That could absolutely cause a lean condition. The MAF can't read the correct amount of air that's actually going into the intake.
I'd try the battery thing first, since it's the easiest though.
baron_iv is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-02-2006, 12:55 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3,541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoGaGTO
he told me one of the brands would leak oil and cause the check engine light to come on. I believe it was the New Era CAI but I'm not sure. He said they haven't had any trouble with the K&N CAI.
.....you do realize that's a K&N filter on the end of that New Era cai...... if the filter is "over-oiled" then you may have issues, but, as soon as you reset the light it would trip it almost immediately. GM has a tsb on the K&N filters, maybe you service manager was getting confused. No biggie.....
GTODEALER is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-02-2006, 01:06 PM
 
PHOTOGOAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Grove City, OH
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
[QUOTE=GTODEALER GM has a tsb on the K&N filters, [/QUOTE]

Does this TSB include stock K&N replacement filters? If so, what does it entail? Just curious......I recently purchased a K&N replacement filter for the '05.

2005 GTO
PBM, RI, A4 with 18" wheels
One of 68

78 Trans Am
46,000 miles, BBC 402
4 speed
Custom automotive photography services available.
PHOTOGOAT is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-02-2006, 07:01 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
hmm maybe spring for a foam or non-oiled replacement filter and see if that fixes it.

Is the GTO MAF any different from an F-bodies? The 04 i mean?
CrabhartLSX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac GTO Forum > The 2004-2006 GTO > Service, Maintenance and Technical Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac GTO Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome