camshaft position sensor problem - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-11-2010, 06:49 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
camshaft position sensor problem

Hi! I have a problem with ls2 camshaft position sensor. The car didn't start very well and was low on power. So we hooked it to a computer. It said that problem was with this sensor. I bought a new one, but the problem was not gone. Checked the wires from the sensor to the ECU and they were all in good condition. What to do next ? To my mind, the only place where the problem could be, is the ECU. The sensor wires have been changed in one part, maybe it had short circuit and "burned" something down in the ECU ?

Any ideas ?
hyperion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-13-2010, 05:11 AM
 
B-ville Goat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Could be the ECU. Not sure how to test that theory unless you can swap one from another car to test.

Vice President
Susquehanna Valley GTOs
B-ville Goat is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-13-2010, 09:11 AM
 
Lautinjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
To diagnose you'll need to hook a scope to the Cam position sensor connection to monitor if the signal is cutting out or not. A voltage drop on the wiring would be a good idea to. Alot of times the wiring is shielded to prevent increased resistance from increased heat if it has been repaired improperly this could be causing a issue. I think the first think you should really do is a crank position relearn then see if the car improves.

Last edited by Lautinjr; 05-14-2010 at 12:12 AM. Reason: spelling
Lautinjr is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-13-2010, 10:10 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lautinjr View Post
I think the first think you should really do is a crank position relearn then see if the car improves.
Sorry for stupid questions, but how do you do that ?
hyperion is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-13-2010, 02:02 PM
 
HP11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Bernardino, Ca.
Posts: 2,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by hyperion View Post
Sorry for stupid questions, but how do you do that ?
You have to do the 'CKP sensor relearn procedure' for PCM replacement, engine replacement, crankshaft replacement, crankshaft balancer replacement, crankshaft position sensor replacement, or any engine repair which disturbs the crankshaft/harmonic balancer to crankshaft position sensor relationship. Now someone correct me if I'm wrong but I'm pretty sure you need a Tech 2 (and the skills)to do that. Dealership or shop (one that knows what they're doing.)

2005 Pontaic GTO - CGM 6 Speed (My car)
2017 Chevrolet Colorado 2WT (My daily driver)
2010 Mercedes Benz C300 Sedan (Wife's car)
2014 Kia Rio LX (Wife's daily driver)
HP11 is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-13-2010, 11:41 PM
 
87GN06GTO07IRL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: A few car lengths ahead in Cleveland Ohio
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by HP11 View Post
You have to do the 'CKP sensor relearn procedure' for crankshaft balancer replacement, or any engine repair which disturbs the crankshaft/harmonic balancer to crankshaft position sensor relationship.
I put my Slp balancer on in my driveway and didn't have to do a relearn.

<-- Guess which ones quicker?.....Nope! Not even close.
87GN06GTO07IRL is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-14-2010, 12:11 AM
 
Lautinjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
You have to do the 'CKP sensor relearn procedure' for PCM replacement, engine replacement, crankshaft replacement, crankshaft balancer replacement, crankshaft position sensor replacement, or any engine repair which disturbs the crankshaft/harmonic balancer to crankshaft position sensor relationship. Now someone correct me if I'm wrong but I'm pretty sure you need a Tech 2 (and the skills)to do that. Dealership or shop (one that knows what they're doing.)
You can do it with any decent diagnostic scanner I did one on a Aurora last week with My Snap On Solus. I know the old brick was capable, and the new Pegisys is capable i'm sure most are. You just go to the protocol select atart, set the e- brake, hold the brake, and rev to 2500 RPM and hold it till it says done. Just don't forget to set the E-brake I always think that step is for safety but it actually won't start calibrating till it's set.



Quote:
I put my Slp balancer on in my driveway and didn't have to do a relearn.
You don't have to do it as in the car won't run if you don't, but it can slightly affect your timing and if it was to be very far out it can cause from a light to dead miss fire and a MIL set. Usual Codes are - Cam and crank out of Sync, sometime with a random misfire code also. Only twice have I seen it actually set a light. Once when I changed a cam sensor on a Denali like 97-01, and the other a harmonic balancer on a older bick 3.8L I think it was like a 96-98 model. I'm sure boh times it caused the problem because of the age causing slack in the chain which may repair resulted in throwing the numbers further off enough to actually casue the issue.


Most shops charge $70 to do it which is really high for a 5 minute job that can be done in the parking lot, but like me I have 7K invested in the equipment and expect to be paid decent for my investment.
Lautinjr is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-14-2010, 07:25 AM
 
HP11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Bernardino, Ca.
Posts: 2,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
I'm just going by what I've read. Not always a good thing w/o doing further research. I've only had this vehicle about a year and really haven't done much work with other OBDII based vehicles we've owned. In looking at my scanners instructions, I see that it's also capable of doing this procedure.

2005 Pontaic GTO - CGM 6 Speed (My car)
2017 Chevrolet Colorado 2WT (My daily driver)
2010 Mercedes Benz C300 Sedan (Wife's car)
2014 Kia Rio LX (Wife's daily driver)
HP11 is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-17-2010, 06:07 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
problem solved, the ECU was fine, but the engine block was wrong somebody has put the 5.7 liter version in this car but left all the 6.0 sensors and ECU... nice mix I have here
hyperion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac GTO Forum > The 2004-2006 GTO > Service, Maintenance and Technical Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac GTO Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pedal position for Heel 'n Toe hsv Interior Discussions 13 10-26-2011 07:12 PM
Foot position NYGGTO Interior Discussions 9 05-10-2009 10:26 PM
Throttle Position Sensor alsgto04 Service, Maintenance and Technical Discussion 13 10-08-2008 10:55 AM
Camshaft problem Need person in the know! Buttocks 1964-1974 Tempest, Lemans & GTO Complete Engine Compartment Discussion 5 03-15-2008 10:39 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome